Cambodia bans entry of travelers from 10 African countries

Phnom Penh, Cambodia (AP) – Cambodia has barred the entry of travelers from 10 African countries, citing the threat from the new Omicron coronavirus variant.

The move, announced in a health ministry statement released late Monday, came two weeks after Cambodia reopened its borders to fully vaccinated travellers.

The health ministry said the entry ban included anyone who has spent the past three weeks in any of the 10 listed countries, including South Africa, where the first variant was reported. Other countries include Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Angola and Zambia.

No date was set for lifting the new ban.

Municipal authorities in the capital of Phnom Penh announced on Tuesday that adult entertainment venues such as karaoke parlors, bars and nightclubs have been allowed to resume operations immediately, according to state news agency AKP. Such businesses are classified as high risk.

Cambodia reopened its borders to fully vaccinated travelers on 15 November, requiring visitors to skip quarantine measures if they are fully vaccinated, test negative 72 hours before entering the country, and their Testing negative on arrival is allowed.

Buoyed by the fact that about 88% of Cambodians are now fully vaccinated, Prime Minister Hun Sen ordered the country’s economy to reopen two weeks earlier than planned to start reviving as soon as possible. Cambodia, like most other Southeast Asian countries, generates a large amount of revenue from foreign tourists.

Cambodia reported 22 new confirmed COVID-19 cases on Tuesday, bringing the total since the pandemic began to 120,134. There were five new related deaths, bringing the total number of fatalities to 2,940.

The Associated Press

Leave a Reply